fbpx Saint Nicholas' Church, Carrickfergus | Shaped by Sea and Stone

Saint Nicholas' Church, Carrickfergus

St Nicholas’ Church was established on this site in 1182 by the Anglo Norman, John de Courcy.

Symbolism and history are interwoven in the church’s fabric, as illustrated by the framed crooked aisle. This ‘skew’, as it is known, was quite deliberately created to represent the head of Christ on the Cross falling to the right. There are many impressive stained glass windows, notably the 16th century Flemish hand-painted “John the Baptist” window, the unique style and colouring of which makes it a constant focus for visitors.

The Donegall/Chichester aisle is dominated by the finest Jacobean Memorial Monument in Ireland, made on site by Italian craftsmen in alabaster and marble in 1625. It depicts Sir Arthur Chichester, his wife Lady Lettice Perrot, the casket of their baby son and a small statue of Sir John Chichester. The bell tower was erected by parishioners in memory of the men of Carrickfergus who gave their lives in the First World War.

A small window in the chancel is known as the ‘leper window’. It is said that those afflicted with the disease were allowed to sit outside the window to hear the Church service.

Although St Nicholas’ is an old church, it is a living church and the gospel message is proclaimed today as it has been for many years.

Opening hours: contact church office


Market Place
BT38 7AW


(028) 9336 0061

54.714786, -5.807406

Opening Times

Sunday worship at 09:30, 11:00am and 18:30
Visitor opening varies - contact church office for details.


  • Toilets
  • Guided Tours Available
  • Accept Groups/Coach Parties
  • Free (parking charges may apply)