Gracehill, Northern Ireland's first Conservation area, is an award-winning Georgian village, founded by the Moravian Church in 1759.
Gracehill Old School dates from 1765 and now houses a welcoming restaurant, Museum Room and Schoolroom. The Museum room shows the history of the Gracehill settlement and has an exhibition of lace work. The building is fully accessible to those with disabilities.
In the 18th century the village was highly structured and the layout of the buildings and the unique Georgian style of architecture remain very much the same. The Moravian values called for a community based way of life. There was a village doctor, access to education and many houses had fresh running water.
The Moravian Church remains central to the village with its burial ground known as God’s Acre, bisected by a path into two plots. Men were buried to the left and women to the right of this central path. All the headstones were of the same shape and design as the Moravians believed that everyone is equal in death – and were laid almost flat on the ground.
Although not the oldest of the Moravian congregations in Northern Ireland, Gracehill is regarded as the "Mother Church" because it was the only full scale settlement of the Moravian Church in Ireland.
Guided Group Walking Tours are available Monday to Saturday by prior arrangement (Charge applies). Tour lasts approximately 1.5 hours.
Group tours, which can be booked by email, include a short DVD presentation in the Old School Room, a guided walk around the square and a visit to the church to find out more of the fascinating history of this Settlement and the Moravian culture.
Tours can be tailored to meet your specific requirements and are suitable for those with disabilities.
A variety of refreshments for group bookings can also be arranged through the Moravian Church.